Surprising Non-Vegan Food

The thing that I was the most worried about when I made the final switch from vegetarian to vegan was becoming a label reader.  I never wanted to be someone who stands in the aisle at the supermarket, helplessly reading labels left and right to make sure I could feel okay about what I was fueling my body with.  Soon into the shift, I learned that in order to feel good about myself, I needed to change the type of food I was eating.  I now try and consume mostly fruits and vegetables.  But from time to time, I do purchase chemically based food – I am human after all.  Below are some of the things that I now avoid, as I have learned that they are unreliable in terms of being vegan.

s-l1000.jpg

Altoids (specifically the standard mint as pictured above) are NOT vegan!  For some reason, they contain gelatin.  This really surprised me, as I never expected something as standard as a breath mint to contain animals.

gummy-candy-Jill-Tindall-Getty-Images-58ae08295f9b58a3c91b3fa3.jpg

Almost all gummy candy (including fruit snacks) contain gelatin as well.  This means that if you are looking to eat vegan, you can’t consume them!  Read the label carefully, as I have been able to find a few that use other agents to create a gummy consistency (Scooby-Doo Fruit Flavored Snacks, for one).

6a010536fe5b48970c01bb07a65b07970d.jpg

A lot of bread baskets feature different types of bread, many of which contain milk powder, are brushed with egg, or different cheeses.  Ask your waiter before you munch or you may be disappointed.

healthy-stir-fry-sauce-recipe.jpg

A lot of sauces, such as stir-fry or dressings, contain non-vegan ingredients.  I was heartbroken when I found out my mango stir fry sauce contained oysters!  Be careful and check labels when purchasing.

376_10-wines-shell-swoon-for-1031602-TwoByOne.jpg

Most wine is made using fining agents that are made up of milk powder, egg whites, or fish bladder!  Check your bottle’s website before you pick on up, or ask in store.

3757629.jpg

Rice and risotto dishes are often prepared in a non-vegan fashion in restaurants – usually with either butter, chicken stock, or tossed with egg.  Make sure to ask your waiter or waitress about how your dish is prepared.

Obviously, it’s a lot of work to try and consume non-raw food as a vegan.  It requires a lot of checking, asking, and patience.  But don’t let this be a hinderance in eating out or trying new foods!  Remember, we all made mistakes when we first made the switch, and don’t beat yourself up over forgetting to ask.  After time you will learn how to work the system in your favor.

-J Louise