A Review of the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT)

In my last week (ever!) of college classes, I have found myself reflecting on my college career and what FIT has taught me both as a student and as a human being.  The school, located on 27th and 7th in Midtown Manhattan, was far from my top pick of colleges.  In fact, when I received my acceptance letter in the mail, I threw it under my bed and didn’t give it another thought …. until I was rejected from my dream university.  It then came time to pick between attending FIT or staying close to my parents home Upstate, and I made the leap.  It turned out to be one of the best decisions that I have made to date.  Fashion school has taught me so much, and boosted me past what any other school could have.  I am thankful for all of the time spent here!

The first thing that this school taught me is to think quick and fast.  Lessons are a match between students and professors, who are constantly challenging us to think harder and do better.  Some will definitely be a breeze (I’m looking at you Gen Eds), but your major classes, those are the ones focused on what you are studying, will definitely kick your ass.  I’m talking weekly news write ups, book reading, movie watching, the list goes on.  There will always be work on your plate, which leads me to my second lesson – prioritize.  With so much to do, you need to organize this in a need-to-get-done manner so that you aren’t missing any of your key assignments.  This task got easier and easier as I began to use planners that worked for me.

Third, you can make any deadline work for you.  Any professor I spoke to about an extension was always willing to compromise with me, even if I was already overdue.  This also goes the other way as well – I walked onto this campus expecting to graduate in May 2019, but I will be graduating in just over a week – a year early.  Planning (my fourth lesson) can take you to amazing places.  If you look to the future and prepare, anything is possible.  Even cutting a year (a whole year!) off your Bachelor’s degree.

Finally, FIT taught me most importantly how to remain motivated when you are at your end.  Graduating college, I am absolutely wiped.  I can barely think straight.  But I’m ready to work.  I know that it was worth it, and I wouldn’t change a thing.

J LouiseIMG_5590.JPG

Graduation last year – here’s hoping this year goes just as well!